Knowledge Base/Strava Knowledge Base/My Account Settings

Updated: Privacy Settings

Rosie
posted this on February 07, 2012 01:26 PM

There are several different features that help you manage your privacy.

Privacy Zones & Private Activities

Hide your home or office from your activity maps. Go to your Settings page (by hovering over your name in the top right and selecting Settings), then click on the Privacy tab on the left side of the page to set up a Privacy Zone. Enter a location in the field provided and click “Create Privacy Zone.” If your ride/run starts or ends within a radius of 500m-1km of the address, the start or end of the ride/run will be hidden from other users. Note that you will not appear on any segment leaderboard that starts/stops within your Privacy Zone and you cannot hold or earn any KOMs/CRs on those segments. Removing a Privacy Zone will reinstate your segment matches and any associated KOMs/CRs.

You can also make any individual activity completely private so that no one else can view it. You can do this by selecting the “Actions” drop-down menu on your Activity page and clicking “Make Run/Ride Private” to hide it from everyone. 

Privacy_Screen_Shot_KB_2.jpg

To display the red circle (as shown above) indicating your privacy zone, go to your activity page and click on "Terrain Map" in the map section.  Select the check box next to "Show Privacy Zone."

                                                                                                check_box.jpg

Enhanced Privacy Mode (aka Requiring Approval to be Followed)

You can also manage who can follow you and see your activities on your Strava profile. Your account is automatically set to “Off,” which means Strava athletes (people with Strava accounts) can follow you and see your activities on your Strava profile.  You can turn Enhanced Privacy Mode “On,” which means your approval is required before a Strava athlete can follow you and see your activities on your Strava profile. Keep in mind that your activities are still visible in public locations like segment and club leaderboards, even if the clubs are listed as private.  Your gear and time of ride/run are only displayed to people who are following you.

 

Enhanced Privacy Mode On                                                             Enhanced Privacy Mode Off

Screen_Shot_2012-10-18_at_4.07.10_PM-2.png03_PM.png

Manage Followers

From your profile page, you can easily manage your current followers from the "Following Me" tab. Click on the circular icon to Remove or Block a user who is currently following your activities.

“Remove” a follower simply removes him/her from your list of followers but allows him/her to follow or request to follow you in the future. 

“Block” a follower prevents him/her from following you again, seeing your profile details, or viewing your activity details in his/her feed. Someone you've blocked will be able to view your activities from public areas like leaderboards, club pages and segment explore.

-1.jpg

 

Learn more about Enhanced Privacy Mode, along with how to set up a Privacy Zone and Manage Followers by taking a look at this short video.

 

 

 
Topic is closed for comments